Routes into Poetry

Wishing to tidy up my poetry-writing skills, I recently signed up to the Poetry School‘s fantastic downloadable course ‘Routes into Poetry‘, by Tamar Yoseloff (I understand she also teaches the course face-to-face, check the website for details). For a mere £15 you get a 35-page PDF containing ten lessons on the basics of writing poetry – verse forms, rhyme, meter, sound, pace, and lineation. Each lesson contains some teaching, some poems to read by way of example, and a few exercises to get you going. So far I’ve written a poem about my hometown and a poem about running.

It has introduced me to ‘Bone Dreams‘, by Seamus Heaney, a dark poem about finding a bone in an isolated place, and also to fellow northerner Basil Bunting’s ‘Briggflatts‘ (worth listening to for his fabulous Northumbrian accent alone). Highly recommended.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Routes into Poetry

  1. Helen says:

    Tamar Yosellof ran the workshops during the poetry module I did when I was at Uni. She is so lovely and a really good teacher. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

